The Belmont Stakes is the last leg in horse racings Triple Crown. It held in early June at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. The race distance is a mile and a half, and is open to three-year-old colts and geldings, and is the longest of the three triple crown races. This Grade 1 stakes race is held 3 weeks after the Preakness Stakes and 5 weeks after the Kentucky Derby. The Belmont Stakes is also known as the ‘Run for the Carnations’ due to the winning horse having a blanket of white carnations placed over their neck.

The Belmont Stakes dates back to 1967, with ‘Ruthless’ winning the inaugural race, which was held at Jerome Park Racetrack in the Bronx. The race was named after August Belmont Sr., who financed the building of Jerome Park. In 1890 the Belmont moved to Morris Park Racecourse, and then to its current home, Belmont Park in 1905. The race was cancelled in 1911 and 1912 due to anti-betting legislation in NY State. From 1963 to 1967 the Belmont was Aqueduct Racetrack because of construction at Belmont Park.

Other Belmont Stakes related information:
Belmont Stakes Past Winners
Belmont Media Selections
Belmont Park Weather

Triple Crown Winners
Triple Crown Near Misses

NYRA - Belmont Park