The Eclipse Awards Champion Horses

The Eclipse Awards, honor the Horse of the Year and other champions of the sport. In 1998, the NTRA replaced the Thoroughbred Racing Associations of North America as co-sponsor, with Daily Racing Form staffers and members of the National Turf Writers' Association.

Eclipse Awards Categories
2 Year Old Filly 2 Year Old Male 3 Year Old Filly
3 Year Old Male Turf Female Turf Male
Horse of the Year Older Female Older Male
Sprinter Female Sprinter Steeplechase
Outstanding Breeder Outstanding Owner Outstanding Trainer
Outstanding Jockey Outstanding Apprentice