HRI
Triple Crown History
Race Tracks
2012 Top Races
2011 Top Races
Track Press Releases
Racing Newcomers
Champions
Thoroughbred Races
Past Bloggers

Thursday, September 17, 2009


HRTV PRESENTS RE-AIRS OF PREVIOUS BREEDERS’ CUPS SHOWS (1984-2005), BEGINNING ON MONDAY, SEPT. 21


Arcadia, CA, Sept. 16 -- With the Breeders' Cup World Championships less than two months away, HRTV (TM) will give racing fans a unique, historical look at previous runnings of "Racing's Greatest Day," when it re-airs Breeders' Cup shows (from 1984 through 2005), as originally broadcast, on both Monday and Tuesdays, beginning this Monday, Sept. 21, at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

After the original evening debut on Sept. 21 -- in which the original NBC Sports Breeders' Cup shows will be broadcast in their entirety -- HRTV will air two Breeders' Cup shows every Monday and Tuesday. These airings will lead into this year's two-day extravaganza, which is slated for Friday, Nov. 6, and Saturday, Nov. 7 from Santa Anita Park.


The shows, on both days, will air at 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT, and 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

The opening Monday "evening" edition which recap the 2005 edition of the Breeders' Cup at Belmont. That year was highlighted by Saint Liam's win in the Classic, the culmination of his Horse of the Year campaign. The following day -- Tuesday, Sept. 22 -- will highlight the 2004 (morning) and 2003 (evening) Cups from Lone Star Park and Santa Anita Park, respectively. The 2004 edition featured Horse of the Year Ghostzapper, along with champions Ouija Board, Ashado, Speightstown and Sweet Catomine. The 2003 renewal is remembered for the dead heat with High Chapparal and Johar in the Turf, the only dead heat in Breeders Cup history.

The shows will continue in descending year order, and conclude on Monday, Nov. 2, with the inaugural 1984 Breeders' Cup from Hollywood Park, aired at both viewings. The exception will be on Monday, Oct. 12, when special Columbus Day holiday racing will pre-empt both shows.

"I've been fortunate to work all 25 Breeders' Cups, the last 23 as a member of the production crew," said Amy J. Zimmerman, HRTV's executive producer. "Breeders' Cup memories are not confined to the two minutes between the gate break and the finish line. It's the interviews, features, and excitement of the event. We are honored to present all of that to our viewers as momentum builds towards this year's Breeders' Cup championship days."

HRTV also produces the weekly series, "Pursuit of the Cup," which previews the top Breeders' Cup contenders in each division. "Pursuit of the Cup" airs each Thursday at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.


Comments (0)

BallHype: hype it up!

Read more articles in the HRTV category.