Wednesday, May 19, 2010


National Steeplechase Association announces summer schedule


The National Steeplechase Association again has assembled a strong summer schedule of racing at racetracks from Virginia to New York, with tentative purses exceeding $800,000. Highlighting the pari-mutuel schedule will be the $100,000 New York Turf Writers and the $75,000 A. P. Smithwick Memorial, both at Saratoga Race Course.

“We are pleased to again offer an extensive schedule of summer racing at pari-mutuel racetracks, and we are grateful to our host tracks for the opportunity to showcase our sport at their facilities,” said Bill Gallo, the National Steeplechase Association’s director of racing. “These races offer very attractive purse money to our horsemen, and they expose our sport to potential new fans both at the track and through the tracks’ broadcast partners. Plus, everyone has an opportunity to wager on these exciting races.”


American steeplechase racing will be featured at historic Saratoga on seven different occasions, beginning with the Saratoga Open House on Sunday, July 18. Once the expanded Saratoga meet opens, steeplechase races will be featured on successive Thursdays throughout the meet. The Smithwick, a Grade 2 race, is scheduled for August 5, and the Grade 1 New York Turf Writers follows three weeks later.

Colonial Downs, located near Virginia’s capital city, Richmond, will offer its patrons three different opportunities to watch and wager on steeplechase racing: June 13, June 27, and July 11. The $50,000 Zeke Ferguson, a Grade 3 race, will be featured on July 11.

Also on tap are three stops in Pennsylvania. Philadelphia Park will kick off the schedule on June 4, and jump racing will be on the program at Penn National Race Course on June 18 and July 2.

Here is the tentative schedule:
Friday, June 4—Philadelphia Park
Sunday, June 13—Colonial Downs
Friday, June 18—Penn National Race Course
Sunday, June 27—Colonial Downs
Friday, July 2—Penn National Race Course
Sunday July 11—Colonial Downs
Sunday, July 18—Saratoga Open House
Thursday, July 29—Saratoga Race Course
Thursday, August 5—Saratoga Race Course
Thursday, August 12—Saratoga Race Course
Thursday, August 19—Saratoga Race Course
Thursday, August 26—Saratoga Race Course
Thursday, September 2—Saratoga Race Course

For further information, contact Don Clippinger at (814) 515-3113.


Comments (0)

BallHype: hype it up!

Read more articles in the National Steeplechase Association category.