Friday, March 20, 2009

Nine-Time Winners Ken and Sarah Ramsey Joined by Newcomers Maker, Lebron as 2008 KTM Honorees

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 20, 2009) – Perennial leading owners Ken and Sarah Ramsey will be joined by first-time honorees in trainer Mike Maker and jockey Victor Lebron when Kentucky Thoroughbred Media (“KTM”) honors the winners of its 19th annual leading owner, trainer and jockey awards presented annually to the statistical leaders on the Kentucky racing circuit.

The Ramseys will be honored for a ninth consecutive year as the leading owners in Kentucky racing, while Maker and Lebron will be presented with their first KTM awards during a special presentation at Turfway Park on Saturday, March 21 during festivities surrounding the $500,000 Lane’s End Stakes (Grade II).

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Media Awards honor the trainer, jockey and owner who collect the largest number of victories during a calendar year at Kentucky racetracks. The awards are co-sponsored by KTM and The Jockey Club Information Systems. The latter provides statistical information that determines each year’s honorees. The awards are based on total victories in each category at Churchill Downs, Ellis Park, Keeneland, Kentucky Downs and Turfway Park.

Horses owned by Ken and Sarah Ramsey won 84 races during 2008 to earn the Nicholasville, Ky. couple their record ninth consecutive KTM “Leading Owner” award in 2008. The Ramseys had earned the honor in 2007 with 49 victories. Louisville-based owners Richard, Elaine and Bert Klein were the runners-up with 26 wins, while Maggi Moss and Zayat Stable tied for second with 24 victories.

Maker, 40, enjoyed a breakthrough year in Kentucky racing and easily earned the KTM “Trainer of the Year” award with 115 victories. Many of those victories were scored in tandem with the Ramseys, who are his primary clients. Ken McPeek was the runner-up with 72 victories and was followed by Dale Romans (52), Tom Amoss (45) and 2007 KTM leading trainer honoree Steve Asmussen (42).

Lebron, a 25-year-old native of the Virgin Islands, enjoyed his finest year in Kentucky in 2008 as he edged two-time defending winner Julien Leparoux 158-156 in total 2008 victories to earn the KTM “Jockey of the Year” award. Lebron has ridden primarily in Kentucky, Indiana and Ohio since coming to the U.S. and notched his biggest win of 2008 aboard Swift Temper in the Grade III Gardenia at Ellis Park. Robby Albarado finished third in total wins at Kentucky tracks with 148 wins, while Miguel Mena notched 129 victories.

Kentucky Thoroughbred Media is an organization of print and electronic journalists, photojournalists, and publicists who work in Kentucky’s racing and breeding industries. The Jockey Club Information Systems is a multimedia information and service provider incorporated in 1989 as a wholly owned subsidiary of The Jockey Club.

Comments (0)

BallHype: hype it up!

Read more articles in the Churchill Downs category.