Wednesday, December 10, 2008


TUCSON, AZ.-- The Turf Publicists of America (TPA) has elected a new president, four regional vice presidents, and a secretary-treasurer to serve the organization in 2009, it was announced today at the TPA’s Mark Kaufman Workshop at the University of Arizona Symposium on Racing and Gaming.

President John Engelhardt of River Downs, Vice President-Eastern Mike Kane of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame, Vice President-Central Dan Leary of Lone Star Park, and Vice President At Large Wendy Davis of the University of Arizona Race Track Industry Program are all newly elected. They will join Vice President-Western Julie Sarno, a consultant, and Secretary-Treasurer Dave Zenner of Arlington Park, both of whom were re-elected to their posts, as the organization's officers for the coming year.

Engelhardt, who had served as Vice President-Central last year, succeeds Eric Wing of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) after his term as president of the TPA expired.

Both Engelhardt and Zenner will serve two year terms and the four vice presidents were elected to terms of one year each. The new slate of officers was installed immediately.

The TPA is an organization that was created in 1951. It is comprised of approximately 180 Thoroughbred racing publicists and marketing executives at racetracks throughout North America with the shared goal of promoting the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Each year, the organization sponsors the TPA Big Sport of Turfdom Award to recognize an individual or individuals who enhanced the sport of thoroughbred racing through their cooperation with the media and racetrack personnel. The Big Sport of Turfdom has been presented annually since 1966.

Comments (0)

BallHype: hype it up!