SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. - Ramon Dominguez, a three-time winner of the Eclipse Award for Outstanding Jockey, will be presented with the Mike Venezia Memorial Award on Sunday at Saratoga Race Course.

The Venezia Award was created in 1989 and Dominguez will be its first winner since 2006. Dominguez, who was injured in a spill in January at Aqueduct Racetrack, announced his retirement in June.

Dominguez was the leading rider on The New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA) circuit from 2009-12 and won 21 meet titles in New York. He was twice leading rider at Saratoga, taking his first Spa title in 2009 and setting a single-season record for wins last year with 68.

The Venezia Award is given to jockeys who exemplify extraordinary sportsmanship and citizenship. It is named in honor of Mike Venezia, who died as the result of injuries he suffered in a spill in 1988 at Belmont Park.

During a special ceremony in the winner's circle following the fourth race, Dominguez also will receive his 2012 Eclipse Award and The New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA) will show a video tribute to the jockey. Richard Migliore, who won the 2003 Venezia Award, will host Sunday's ceremony.

Previous winners of the Venezia Award:
2006: Edgar Prado
2005: (Not given)
2004: Patricia Cooksey
2003: Richard Migliore
2002: Dean Kutz
2001: Mike Luzzi
2000: Jorge Chavez
1999: Gary Stevens
1998: Eddie Maple
1997: Robbie Davis
1996: Laffit Pincay, Jr.
1995: Pat Day
1994: Mike Smith
1993: Jerry Bailey
1992: Angel Cordero, Jr.
1991: Chris McCarron
1990: Bill Shoemaker
1989: Mike Venezia (posthumously)