*All trainers in the all-time top 10 in money won by Breeders’ Cup runners have horses entered in the 25th World Championships.

* No trainer has won two races in consecutive years with the same horses. Bob Baffert can do that this year with 2007 Sprint winner Midnight Lute in the Sprint and 2007 Juvenile Fillies winner Indian Blessing in the Filly & Mare Sprint. Indian Blessing could become the first horse to win two different Breeders’ Cup races.

*Two trainers earned their first Breeders’ Cup winners in 2007: Steve Asmussen (Curlin, Classic) and Francois Parisel (Nownownow, Juvenile Turf).

*Mel Stute is the only trainer to win with his first two Breeders' Cup starters: Brave Raj (1986 Juvenile Fillies) and Very Subtle (1987 Sprint).

*Not counting 1984 when six of the seven winning trainers won with their first starters, 22 trainers have won with their initial Breeders' Cup starters. In all, nine trainers are 1-for-1. They are: Louis Albertrani (Artax, 1999 Sprint), Budd Lepman (Eillo, 1984 Sprint), Steve Margolis (Cajun Beat, 2003 Sprint), Frank Martin (Outstandingly, 1984 Juvenile Fillies), Michael Matz (Round Pond, 2006 Distaff), Vincent O'Brien (Royal Academy, 1990 Mile), Jim Ryerson (Unbridled's Song, 1995 Juvenile), Vincent Timphony (Wild Again, 1984 Classic), David Vance (Caressing, 2000 Juvenile Fillies).

*Eight trainers have won two or more Breeders' Cup races on a single day and three have done it multiple times. D. Wayne Lukas won three races in 1988 (Gulch, Sprint; Is It True, Juvenile; and Open Mind, Juvenile Fillies) and two in 1985 (Life's Magic, Distaff and Twilight Ridge, Juvenile Fillies), 1986 (Capote, Juvenile and Lady's Secret, Distaff), 1987 (Sacahuista, Distaff and Success Express, Juvenile), 1994 (Flanders, Juvenile Fillies and Timber Country, Juvenile) and 1999 (Cash Run, Juvenile Fillies and Cat Thief, Classic). Richard Mandella won four races in 2003 (Action This Day, Juvenile; Halfbridled, Juvenile Fillies; Johar [deadheat], Turf and Pleasantly Perfect, Classic) and two in 1993 (Phone Chatter, Juvenile Fillies and Kotashaan, Turf). Shug McGaughey won two races in 1989 (Dancing Spree, Sprint and Rhythm, Juvenile) and 1995 (My Flag, Juvenile Fillies and Inside Information, Distaff). Other double winners are Bob Baffert (2007 Juvenile Fillies, Indian Blessing and Sprint, Midnight Lute), Patrick Byrne (1997 Juvenile, Favorite Trick and Juvenile Fillies, Countess Diana), Rick Dutrow (2005 Sprint, Silver Train and Classic, Saint Liam), Joe Orseno (2000 Juvenile, Macho Uno and Filly & Mare Turf, Perfect Sting) and Todd Pletcher (2004 Sprint. Speightstown and Distaff, Ashado).

* Doug O’Neill, who has six horses entered in the Championships, can become the second trainer to saddle Breeders’ Cup winners in four consecutive years. Kiaran McLaughlin, who has Shakis entered in the Mile, could become the fourth trainer to saddle a winner in three consecutive Championships.

*Fifteen trainers have won races in consecutive years. D. Wayne Lukas triumphed in five consecutive years (1985-89), and Aidan O'Brien (2001-03) and Doug O’Neill (2005-07) had wins in the championship in three consecutive years. In addition to Lukas and O'Brien, three trainers have posted victories in consecutive years twice. They are Neil Drysdale (1984-85 and 1992-93), Bobby Frankel (2001-02 and 2004-05) and Shug McGaughey (1988-89 and 1992-93). Other trainers to post victories in consecutive years are Pascal Bary (2002-03), Francois Boutin (1987-88), Patrick Byrne (1997-98), Ron McAnally (1989-90), Kiaran McLaughlin (2006-07), Bill Mott (1997-98), Jay Robbins (2000-01), Jenine Sahadi (1996-97) and Mel Stute (1986-87).

* Four trainers can saddle repeat winners with the same horse in the same race from 2007: Bob Baffert (Midnight Lute, Sprint), Rick Dutrow (Kip Deville, Mile), Bobby Frankel (Ginger Punch, Ladies’ Classic, run as the Distaff in 2007) and Steve Asmussen (Curlin, Classic).

*Five trainers have repeated in back-to-back years in the same race with the same horse. They are: Francois Boutin (1987-88 Miesque, Mile), Shug McGaughey (1992-93 Lure, Mile), Ron McAnally (1989-90 Bayakoa, Distaff), Jay Robbins (2000-01 Tiznow, Classic) and Aidan O'Brien (2002-03 High Chaparral [dead heat in ‘03], Turf).

Leading Breeders’ Cup Trainers by Money Won
Trainer Starters 1st 2nd 3rd Money Won
D. Wayne Lukas 146 18 20 15 $19,645,520
Bobby Frankel 72 5 9 8 12,073,420
Shug McGaughey 49 9 9 1 8,693,560
Bill Mott 53 5 6 4 8,592,960
Todd Pletcher 51 3 6 7 7,911,650
Andre Fabre 39 4 4 7 7,621,000
Bob Baffert 47 5 7 3 7,509,800
Richard Mandella 28 6 1 1 7,116,960
Aidan O’Brien 44 3 8 4 6,936,270
Neil Drysdale 33 6 5 2 6,529,840