DANVERSPORT, MA - Lovethatdirtywater, New England’s champion three-year-old in 2010, was named the recipient of the 2010 James B. Moseley Horse of the Year Award by the New England Turf Writers Association at its 69h Annual Awards Dinner held last evening at the Danversport Yacht Club in Danvers, MA.

Owned and trained by John Botty, Lovethatdirtywater had previously earned champion juvenile honors in 2009.

Lovethatdirtywater returned to Suffolk Downs to kick off his sophomore campaign and was fourth in his first start back. He quickly returned to championship form with three consecutive victories against strong fields and capped off his season with a gallant runner-up finish behind an upset winner after dueling through blistering fractions. The aptly-named Boston-based runner thrilled local fans from July to November and ended his season with three wins and one second from five starts.

Other divisional winners honored at the awards dinner were:

2-year-old filly - Sociano’s Legacy
2-year-old male - Miscoe Gray
3-year-old filly - Winning Image
Robert M. O’Malley Memorial Award - 3-year-old colt - Lovethatdirtywater
Older female - Technically Wicked
James R. Bishop Memorial Award - Older male - Western Tease
Joseph E. Carney Memorial Award - Turf male - National Hero
Turf female - Battingstar
Sprinter - Western Tease
Cliff Sundberg Memorial Award - New England-bred - Mr. Meso
Special Achievement - Jacqueline Davis, Hector Ramos, Hi Time Scott, Glenridge Stable & Joe Signore, Jr. and Nick Zito
Eli Chiat Memorial Award - Outstanding Jockey - Tammi Piermarini
Gerry Sullivan Memorial Award - Outstanding Trainer - Charles Assimakopoulos
Lou Smith Memorial Award - Yearly Achievement - Ask Queenie
Sam McCracken Memorial Award - Lifetime Achievement - Michael Blowen

The New England Turf Writers Association also inducted its Hall of Fame Class of 2011, which consists of trainer Ronald Dandy, jockey Henry Wajda, Francis “Skip” McDonnell, James “Judge” Dooley and reporter and handicapper Bob Waldo. A plaque bearing the names of all of the inductees is on permanent display at the Sports Museum located in the TD Banknorth Garden.