EAST BOSTON, MA - The New England Turf Writers Association has selected its champions and award winners for 2008. The annual awards dinner will take place in July of 2009 during the live racing season at Suffolk Downs. The honorees are:

2-year-old filly - Snow Down
2-year-old male - Mr. Jolson
3-year-old filly - Shorty Puffs
Robert M. O’Malley Memorial Award - 3-year-old colt - Hold On Smokey
Older female - Nijinsky Bullet
Older male - Southern Rainbow
Joseph E. Carney Memorial Award - Turf - Gator’s Tracks
Sprinter - Nijinsky Bullet
Cliff Sundberg Memorial Award - New England-bred - Flirt for Fame
Special Achievement - Donald Kielty, Little Tara
Eli Chiat Memorial Award - Outstanding Jockey - Winston Thompson
Gerry Sullivan Memorial Award - Outstanding Trainer - Rafael Ramos
Lou Smith Memorial Award - Yearly Achievement - Lorita Lindemann
Sam McCracken Memorial Award - Lifetime Achievement - Edward “Ned” Allard

Allard began his training career in 1970 at Lincoln Downs and became one of the leading trainers in New England for the next two decades. Allard gained national attention in 1985, conditioning Eclipse Award-winning filly Mom’s Command for New England Racing Hall of Famer Peter Fuller. Since moving out of the region, Allard has continued to support New England racing, shipping his horses in on a regular basis. In 2008, he won the Mom’s Command Stakes at Suffolk Downs with Anofficerandalady. Over the course of his career, Allard has amassed approximately 2,600 wins, including 175 stakes, nearly half of which were at New England tracks.

Lindemann, a licensed owner and trainer at Suffolk Downs, is being recognized for her tireless and selfless commitment to finding suitable homes for thoroughbreds upon their retirement from racing. As Suffolk Downs gained national attention this year for becoming the first track in the country to institute a firm anti-slaughter policy, Lindemann’s efforts over the last decade serve as a great example for others in the industry to follow.

The winner of the James B. Moseley Award for Horse of the Year will be announced at the awards dinner. The NETWA’s Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will be announced in the spring and will also be honored at the awards dinner.

For additional information, contact the NETWA at (617) 568-3220.