DANVERSPORT, MA - Riversrunrylee, a two-time winner at Suffolk Downs last year, was named the recipient of the 2009 James B. Moseley Horse of the Year Award by the New England Turf Writers Association at its 68h Annual Awards Dinner held last evening at the Danversport Yacht Club in Danvers, MA.

Owned and bred by L and D Farm and trained by Juan Camilo, Riversrunrylee also earned champion older male honors in 2009.

Riversrunrylee returned to Boston after a successful winter at Tampa and was a game second behind the highly regarded Bridled Quest. He turned the tables on his rival in his next start on July 4 with an authoritative victory in his typical front-running fashion. In his next start, he shipped to Saratoga and faced Grade 1 company, finishing a solid third behind Met Mile winner Bribon. In his return to Suffolk Downs on October 5 in the Rudy Baez Classic, he led every step of the way and held off Grade 2 winner Delosvientos. That success continued at Tampa this past winter with two commanding performances on the grass.

Other divisional winners honored at the awards dinner were:

2-year-old filly - Oceans of Honey
2-year-old male - Lovethatdirtywater
3-year-old filly - Sassy City
Robert M. O’Malley Memorial Award - 3-year-old colt - Western Tease
Older female - Bill's Jewell
James R. Bishop Memorial Award - Older male - Riversrunrylee
Joseph E. Carney Memorial Award - Turf male - Dadsfourwheeldrive
Turf female - PJ's Lil Toni
Sprinter - Camacthmagnificent
Cliff Sundberg Memorial Award - New England-bred - Ask Queenie
Special Achievement - Giuseppe Iadisernia, Carlos Quinones
Eli Chiat Memorial Award - Outstanding Jockey - Orlando Bocachica
Gerry Sullivan Memorial Award - Outstanding Trainer - Rafael Ramos
Bob Varey Memorial Award - Media - Butch Stearns
Lou Smith Memorial Award - Yearly Achievement - The Employees of Suffolk Downs
Sam McCracken Memorial Award - Lifetime Achievement - Steve Pini

The New England Turf Writers Association also inducted its Hall of Fame Class of 2010, which consists of 1983 Massachusetts Handicap winner Let Burn, trainer Bruce G. Smith, jockey Denise Boudrot, the Yasou Stable Trust led by owner and breeder Charles Assimakopoulos, and reporter and handicapper Gerry Sullivan. A plaque bearing the names of all of the inductees is on permanent display at the Sports Museum located in the TD Banknorth Garden.