ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, Ill. (Aug. 8, 2012) – With international horses slated to take center stage for the Aug. 18 Arlington Million and International Festival of Racing, Arlington Park sheds this weekend’s stakes spotlight on locally owned horses by presenting $100,000 Illinois Owners Stakes in both open and distaff divisions. Each race is slated for a mile and a sixteenth on the turf.

The filly and mare division, which goes as race 8 on the 11-race card, features no fewer than four stakes winners including Mark Hoffman & Earl Trostud Jr.’s Grade I victress Hooh Why, who ran second in the Grade III Ontario Matron at Woodbine in her last start and earlier this year finished third in the Grade III Arlington Matron. Rosemary Homeister Jr. rides the Mike Reavis trainee.

Among those slated to face Hooh Why are Two Bucks to Show’s Cumulonimble (James Graham); S. D. Brilie Partnership’s Pathway (Seth Martinez); Barr Three, Cherrywood Racing and Michael Bojaarski’s Katie the Lady; and Timothy Keeley’s Peyote Patty (Tim Thornton) – the 1-2-3-4 finishers in the $113,125 Lincoln Heritage Handicap in June.

Katie the Lady and Peyote Patty have each won an allowance race since their engagement in the Lincoln Heritage.

Also slated to start in the filly and mare division are: Team Block’s All for Thee (Eduardo Perez), a stakes winner and graded stakes placed filly last year; and Frank Mancari & Pat Greco’s One Last Dance (E. T. Baird), a winner over Aqueduct’s Inner Dirt track over the winter.

The open division, carded as race 5, features Captain Jack Racing Stable’s Mr. Mischief and Team Block’s Suntracer – the 1-2 finishers in the $114,625 Black Tie Affair in June. Since that race, the Tony Granitz trainee ran third behind multiple graded stakes winner Willcox Inn in an allowance race on July 22 while the Chris Block-trained Suntracer reported home third behind stablemate Ioya Bigtime in the Grade III Stars and Stripes on July 14.

E. T. Baird has the call aboard Mr. Mischief while Eduardo Perez is slated to ride Suntracer.

Others entered for the open division include Team Block’s Mavericking (Jeffrey Sanchez), an allowance winner here earlier in the season; Terry Biondo & Cherrywood Racing’s Princeville Condo (Francisco Torres), who captured last fall’s $60,000 Robert F. Carey Memorial at Hawthorne; Clovertown Farm’s Taptowne (Tim Thornton), winner of the $60,000 Cryptoclearance Stakes at Hawthorne in April; Robert & Kelly Dobbs’ & Carson Springs Farm’s defending champion Tazz (Seth Martinez), winner here last time out July 1; and Hondo Ranch et al’s Snapped (James Graham), who captured a claiming race on the turf here June 10.