Thursday, June 28 2012


SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. – The nation’s finest horses, top jockeys and best trainers will once again gather in upstate New York when historic Saratoga Race Course commences its 144th season of racing on Friday, July 20, with the Grade 1, $1 million Travers the centerpiece of a glittering 40-day meet that runs through Labor Day, September 3.

Battling for the H. Allen Jerkens training title – won in 2011 for the second straight year by Todd Pletcher – will be the leading conditioners on The New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA) circuit as well as a sizeable contingent from around the country. Making their presence felt will be New York-based Christophe Clement, Linda Rice, Kiaran McLaughlin and Chad Brown, along with Hall of Famers Bill Mott, Shug McGaughey and Nick Zito, and perennial Spa habitués H. Graham Motion, Hall of Famers Jonathan Sheppard and D. Wayne Lukas, Ken McPeek, Steve Asmussen, and Dale Romans, trainer of 2012’s Grade 1 Metropolitan Handicap winner Shackleford.

Read more articles in the Saratoga category.


Page 1 of 1 pages