The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


Edited Churchill Release — A total of 312 3-year-old Thoroughbreds were made eligible to compete in this year’s Triple Crown series when the early nomination phase closed Jan. 29.

Each of the horses from the 2019 foal crop was nominated through a $600 payment to compete in any of the Triple Crown races: the 148th running of the $3 million Kentucky Derby presented by Woodford Reserve (Grade I) on May 7 at Churchill Downs (1 ¼ miles); 147th running of the $1.5 million Preakness (GI) on May 21 at Pimlico Race Course (1 3/16 miles); and 154th running of the $1.5 million Belmont Stakes (GI) on June 11 at Belmont Park (1 ½ miles).

The number of early nominations slipped 4.3% or 14 horses from last year’s total of 326.

The group is led by Grade I winners Corniche (Breeders Cup Juvenile and American Pharoah), Echo Zulu (Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies, Frizette and Spinaway), Jack Christopher (Champagne), Pinehurst (Del Mar Futurity) and Rattle N Roll (Breeders’ Futurity).

Echo Zulu is one of six fillies that was made eligible.

The nominees also include a record 21 horses based in Japan along with two based in Europe and one from Dubai.

Todd Pletcher led all trainers with 42 horses nominated to the Triple Crown and was followed by Brad Cox (26), Chad Brown (23), Steve Asmussen (20) and Bob Baffert (18). The latter is suspended by Churchill Downs Incorporated from competing in the 2022 Kentucky Derby.

Anthony Manganaro’s Siena Farm is involved in partnerships with 24 horses – 12 with the SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Robert E. Masterson, Jay A. Schoenfarber, Waves Edge Capital LLC, Catherine M. Donovan, Golconda Stable and Stonestreet Stables LLC conglomerate and another dozen in partnership with WinStar Farm and others – to lead all owners.

Gun Runner led all sires with 16 Triple Crown nominations followed by Into Mischief (14), Quality Road (12) and Tapit (11)

Complete list of nominees here

Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *