The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


HRI Staff Edited Release—

Flavien Prat and Doug O’Neill took their places atop the jockey and trainer leader boards midway through the meeting and stayed to the end in winning titles for the 80th Del Mar Summer Season which ended Monday.

In winning his third championship, solo or shared, in the last four years, Prat notched 42 wins, tieing the record he now co-shares with Drayden Van Dyke and Rafael Bejarano. Van Dyke finished second this year with 32.

O’Neill saddled 24 winners, three more than runner-up Peter Miller. It was O’Neill’s sixth Del Mar training title.

John Sadler was the top trainer for stakes wins with nine, including a repeat in the Pacific Classic when Higher Power went back-to-back with Accelerate in 2018. Both horses are owned by Hronis Racing, Del Mar’s leading owner.

Sadler has more stakes wins with 76–third all time–moving past Bobby Frankel (70) and Charlie Whittingham (74). Sadler is one win behind Ron McAnally.
Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *