The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


By Marc Lawrence, — Bryce Young was the seventh Heisman-winning QB to go No. 1 overall in the past 14 drafts, after just three such QBs did so in the previous 39.

• 2010: Sam Bradford (2008 Heisman)

• 2011: Cam Newton (2010 Heisman)

• 2015: Jameis Winston (2013 Heisman)

• 2018: Baker Mayfield (2017 Heisman)

• 2019: Kyler Murray (2018 Heisman)

• 2020: Joe Burrow (2019 Heisman)

• 2023: Young (2021 Heisman)

Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *