The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


Thought For The Day
More news and notes surrounding this year’s MLB All Star Game: The Cleveland Indians currently are tied with most times hosting the MLB All Star Game at 5. They will break the record at 6 games tonight … FYI: The Los Angeles Dodgers haven’t hosted a MLB All Star Game since 1980, which is the longest drought. They will host in 2020 … The 1939 New York Yankees and the 1959 Los Angeles Dodgers are the only teams to host a MLB All Star Game and then win the World Series later that fall … The All-Star game MVP award was established in 1962 when it was first won by Dodgers SS Maury Wills. Leon “Daddy Wags” Wagner of the Dodgers (and former Cleveland Indian) won it the following year … No player has won the All Star game MVP award three times. Mike Trout would be the first should he win the title this year.

Today’s Scorecard
Sometimes the name on the back of the uniform is enough to gain a place on an MLB All-Star roster. NY Mets’ Willie Mays made his 24th and final appearance in the 1973 classic despite having a .172 batting average at the break … in 1974 Steve Rogers earned a spot at 9-8 with a 4.58 ERA … 1983 saw Reggie Jackson with .214 batting average at the break, before ending the season with a sub .200 average, don an All-Star uniform … and in 2001 Cal Ripken Jr. was awarded a berth with 4 HRs and a .217 batting average.

Grinding Out The Profits
Coffee Club barista Stormin’ Norman from Philadelphia shared this on-the-money observation: Three of the four members of MLB’s $300+ million club failed to make the cut for this year’s All Star game, while the game’s highest paid player (Stephen Strasburg) will be watching the game on TV this year as well. No one has ever said professional sports owners were geniuses.
Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *