The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


By Marc Lawrence, — It was debatable heading into the Final Four. It’s undeniable now. Connecticut has many national championships as Duke. And Indiana. They have more than Kansas, Villanova, and Louisville.

Per CBS Sports, the Huskies are the fifth team to win all of their Tournament games by at least 13 points. The last team to do it was Isiah Thomas-led Indiana in 1981. Overall, the Huskies’ +120 Tournament point differential is fourth all-time.

UConn is the seventh team to win it all after starting the season unranked and the first since the Huskies did it in 2011.

Only UCLA (11), Kentucky (eight) and North Carolina (six) have more titles than the Huskies’ five. Moreover, UConn is a perfect 5-0 in title games, the most wins without a loss of any program.

Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *