The Horse Race Insider is a privately owned magazine. All copyrights reserved. “Bet with your head, not over it.”

The Conscience of Thoroughbred Racing


By Marc Lawrence — ESPN reports we’ve seen seven teams ensure that they would have new starting quarterbacks next season – most notably the Patriots after bidding farewell to Tom Brady – while two others re-signed their incumbents. Thus far the winners include the Cleveland Browns, the Buffalo Bills, and the Tampa Bay Bucs (or should we say the Bucs’ box office). Topping the list of losers are the Miami Dolphins and Detroit Lions, along with DeShaun Watson. To read more on how and why these teams/players made this list, and others not mentioned, click here.
By The Numbers
249 wins: Including the playoffs, Tom Brady and Bill Belichick have 249 wins together, which is over 100 more than any other QB-coach duo in the Super Bowl Era … 16 of 17 titles: The Patriots have won 16 of the last 17 AFC East titles, and the only time they didn’t (2008) was the year Brady tore his ACL in Week One.
Grinding Out The Profits
In 2011, 43.5 percent of NFL kickoffs ended in touchbacks. Sixty-one percent of kickoffs ended in touchbacks during the 2019 regular season. To eliminate high-speed collisions (and injuries) the XFL implemented an innovative kickoff lining each team 5-yards apart and starting play once the ball has been touched by the receiving team. Expect the NFL to make a change to its kickoff rules ASAP
Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share

⚠ Before you comment

Our staff likes nothing better than to engage with the HRI Faithful and provide a forum for interaction on horseracing and sports. In that spirit, please be kind and reasonable; keep the language clean, and the tone civil. Comments from those who cannot comply will be deleted. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *